Tuesday’s NFL: Tom Flores, Drew Pearson finalists for Hall of Fame

Detroit News

Two-time Super Bowl-winning coach Tom Flores and standout wide receiver Drew Pearson are finalists for the Pro Football Hall of Fame’s class of 2021.

Flores, the first Hispanic coach in the NFL, was nominated in the new coaches category, while Pearson is a senior nominee.

Flores had a 105-90 career record with the Raiders and Seahawks. He took the Raiders to Super Bowl victories in 1981 and 1984.

In nine seasons with the Raiders, Flores won 91 games against 56 losses (.619 percentage), including a record of 8-3 (.727) in the playoffs. His career wins total trails only Hall of Famer John Madden in franchise history.

“It seems to have lasted a lifetime,” Flores said of the nominating process, “and hopefully it will happen for real. I’m excited by it and everything.”

An undrafted free agent, Pearson played his entire 11-year career with the Cowboys, making three All-Pro teams. He has 489 receptions for 7,822 yards (16 yards per catch). A member of the All-Decade Team of the 1970s, Pearson played in 22 playoff games, making 68 catches and scoring eight touchdowns. The 1977 Cowboys won the championship, with Pearson leading the NFL in receiving yards (870) that season.

Both Flores and Pearson will be considered for induction at the hall’s selection committee meeting the day before the Super Bowl. To be elected, each must receive 80% of the 48-member votes.

“Thank you for the call. You made my day, and you made my life,” an emotional Pearson said near the end of a call from Hall of Fame President and CEO David Baker on Tuesday. “How can I thank you? I’m crying, and I haven’t cried in a long time. Happy tears. I’ve been waiting for this call for so long.”

Pearson also is remembered for making the long touchdown catch in a playoff game against Minnesota that was dubbed a “Hail Mary” by quarterback Roger Staubach. Clearly, that term has stuck with such passes.

A total of 18 finalists will be considered: Flores, Pearson, a contributor (to be nominated Aug. 25), and 15 modern-era players to be determined later this year and in January.

The Class of 2021 will be formally enshrined on Sunday, Aug. 8, 2021.

Due to the coronavirus pandemic, the 2020 enshrinements were delayed until next year. That includes a special Centennial Class, plus the regular class of 2020.

Extra points 

Browns Pro Bowl running back Nick Chubb was placed in concussion protocol after he sustained a head injury while being tackled during the team’s first fully padded practice.

… The Cowboys released defensive tackle Gerald McCoy a day after the newcomer sustained a season-ending leg injury.

… Jets wide receiver Vyncint Smith had surgery Tuesday to repair a core muscle injury and could be sidelined up to two months.

… Cardinals cornerback Robert Alford will likely miss a second straight season because of an injury suffered during the preseason.

… The Vikings signed former Bengals linebacker Hardy Nickerson for depth.

Articles You May Like

WATCH LIVE: Lions vs. Falcons Madden 24 simulation
Packers, Lions release injury report ahead of Thursday Night Football
NFL betting: Colts rise, Vikings head due south in division futures
NFL Week 3 expert picks/predictions: Moneyline, spread, over/under
NFL Week 3 best bets: One wager to make for every team

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *